Saturday, August 2, 2014

Bookish Talk: When Books Take Over Your Space!

http://iheartyafiction.blogspot.com

So this week I'm talking about a dilemma that many of us face when the amount of books in our homes exceeds the amount of shelf space available. 


What can we do? Stop buying books?



Friday, August 1, 2014

Beach Reads in August Giveaway Hop! Win LET'S GET LOST!

Hosted by Stuck In Books!

Hello lovelies!

*Uhem* Has summer felt a bit like this to anyone else?


I know we've still got August, but I had so many plans! I thought I'd go to the beach a hundred times and read a thousand books! Now that we're down to the last few weeks of warm weather (at least for Michigan!), I'm ready to make up for lost time with extra trips to the lake and reading as many books as possible! Because who needs sleep?


Anyways.....

One of the books that I was lucky enough to fit in this month was Let's Get Lost by Adi Alsaid. This book was a perfect summer read and I think it would be a lovely beachy companion. I was lucky enough to win an ARC from a bookish friend, so I'll be passing that along to the winner of this giveaway. However, if the winner lives outside the US, I will order a copy from The Book Depository, provided they ship to your location for free!

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18812437-let-s-get-lost?ac=1

How about you? Are you keeping up with your summer reading goals? Going to the beach as often as you'd hoped? And most importantly: share your favorite Beach Reads!


Now Keep On Hopping!

Thursday, July 31, 2014

Throwback Thursday Review: Defiance by C.J. Redwine

http://iheartyafiction.blogspot.com/ 
Throwback Thursday is a weekly feature here at I Heart YA Fiction where we will be reviewing older releases and/or books that have been on our shelves for awhile. Feel free to participate by reading from the bottom of your shelf and join the linky list below! We would love to read your Thursday Throwback Reviews!

Defiance (Defiance #1) 
Release Date: August 28, 2012
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Pages: 403
Source:  Purchased
ISBN-10: 0062117181
Rating: 5 Hearts

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/11410430-defiance?ac=1

Book Description

"Defiance by C. J. Redwine is rich postapocalyptic YA fantasy perfect for fans of Graceling and Tamora Pierce.
While the other girls in the walled city-state of Baalboden learn to sew and dance, Rachel Adams learns to track and hunt. While they bend like reeds to the will of their male Protectors, she uses hers for sparring practice.

When Rachel's father fails to return from a courier mission and is declared dead, the city's brutal Commander assigns Rachel a new Protector: her father's apprentice, Logan—the boy she declared her love to and who turned her down two years before. Left with nothing but fierce belief in her father's survival, Rachel decides to escape and find him herself.

As Rachel and Logan battle their way through the Wasteland, stalked by a monster that can't be killed and an army of assassins out for blood, they discover romance, heartbreak, and a truth that will incite a war decades in the making."

 

Review

Short and Sweet:

I am so freaking frustrated with myself for waiting for long to read this. I LOVE IT, and Logan is my new book boyfriend.

To Elaborate...

Weeks have passed since Rachel's father was supposed to have returned, and now he has been declared dead by the leader of Baalboden, the Commander. Along with the declaration is the will that states Logan, the boy who rejected her two years ago, is to be her new Protector. Angry and missing her father, Rachel decides to escape on her own to go find him, but traveling through the Wasteland won't be easy with the fearsome Cursed One nearby, assassins out to kill, and many more dangers. 

I bought this book at a book fest in early 2013, and I was so excited because I basically stalked the book for at least 6 months beforehand. For some reason, probably a combination of school and work and life things that always get in the way of reading, it got shuffled into my giant TBR pile. I finally started reading this one night and told myself I would just read the first chapter (like I usually do when I'm super tired before bed but still want to read). 73 pages later, insanely engrossed in this incredible story, I pretty much unwillingly crashed into sleep. It's been a long time since a book consumed me like this one did. 

So to get to the more substantial reasons on why I loved it, Rachel and Logan are super complex and utterly adorable characters in the best way. Logan is an inventor and loves tinkering around with things, and Rachel is so headstrong (and physically strong) and is full of brilliant determination. Though Logan goes through some great growth, Rachel's transformations blew me out of the water. Her grief, her desire for revenge, her growing affection for Logan, etc. all feel so real and passionate and intense.  And I adore how upfront Logan is when they talk (most of the time). They connect with each other so well, and it's just beautiful. The action is just as awesome as the romance, and I like the mystery behind the Commander and the Cursed One.

All in all, this is a new favorite book for me. I'm so glad I have the second and third books on hand so I can continue this wonderful series.  

Wednesday, July 30, 2014

"Waiting On" Wednesday: Liars, Inc. by Paula Stokes

http://iheartyafiction.blogspot.com/ 
Waiting On Wednesday is hosted by Breaking The Spine :)

I can't wait to read:

Liars, Inc. 

Liars, Inc. by Paula Stokes

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18009950-liars-inc?ac=1

Book Description

"It all starts with one little lie…

Max Cantrell has never been a big fan of the truth, so when the opportunity arises to sell lies to his classmates, it sounds like a good way to make a little money and liven up a boring senior year. With the help of his friends Preston and Parvati, Max starts a business providing forged permission slips and cover stories for the students of Vista Palisades High. Liars, Inc. they call it. Suddenly everybody needs something and the cash starts pouring in. Who knew lying could be so lucrative?

When Preston wants his own cover story to go visit a girl he met online, Max doesn’t think twice about hooking him up. Until Preston never comes home. Then the evidence starts to pile up—terrifying clues that lead the cops to Preston’s body. Terrifying clues that point to Max as the murderer.

Can Max find the real killer before he goes to prison for a crime he didn’t commit? Paula Stokes starts with one single white lie and weaves a twisted tale that will have readers guessing until the explosive final chapters."

________________________

Why I'm Waiting:

I'm a HUGE fan of Paula Stokes's books, and I love the sound of this one. It sounds so thrilling, and I really like the cover. Can't wait!!!


What book are you 'waiting' to read?

Leave me a link to your WOW so I can stop by! :)

Tuesday, July 29, 2014

Review: On the Fence by Kasie West


https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18298225-on-the-fence
Release Date: July 1, 2014
Publisher: HarperTeen  
Pages: 304
Source: ARC for Review
ISBN-10:  0062235672
Rating: 5 Hearts

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18298225-on-the-fence

Book Description

"She's a tomboy. He's the boy next door…

Charlie Reynolds can outrun, outscore, and outwit every boy she knows. But when it comes to being a girl, Charlie doesn't know the first thing about anything. So when she starts working at a chichi boutique to pay off a speeding ticket, she finds herself in a strange new world. To cope with the stress of her new reality, Charlie takes to spending nights chatting with her neighbor Braden through the fence between their yards. As she grows to depend on their nightly Fence Chats, she realizes she's got a bigger problem than speeding tickets-she's falling for Braden. She knows what it means to go for the win, but if spilling her secret means losing him for good, the stakes just got too high.

Fun, original, and endearing, On the Fence is a romantic comedy about finding yourself and finding love where you least expect."

Review

Short and Sweet:

Yay! This book is so much fun! I laughed, swooned and occasionally got weepy. An all around fantastic read!

To Elaborate...

On the Fence is an entertaining, fast read about an adventurous and active girl named Charlie. She's grown up in a house with her dad, 3 brothers and her neighbor, Braden, who may as well be a 4th brother. Charlie has long been 'one of the guys' and has fit in perfectly with her lovable, male-dominated household. She LOVES sports, plays with the boys and keeps up just fine.

Then her father makes her get a job to pay for her multiple speeding tickets. Charlie finds a job at a small clothing boutique and while initially resistant, she slowly becomes interested in her girly side... and whether or not she actually has one. Her lovably weird boss, Linda, seems to think so and it isn't long before Charlie realizes that not everything about it is silly. She even makes a few friends who are, *gasp*, girls and attends a few events that don't involve sports.

Meanwhile, late at night, when she can't sleep, Charlie and Braden meet at the fence separating their houses and experience a side of each other that feels exciting and different. Soon they are caught up in a game of 'who knows who best.' Each trying to prove to the other that they are the most observant. However, it begins to change their everyday dynamics and when Charlie starts dating another guy, suddenly her friendship with Braden seems complicated. But figuring out her friendship with Braden isn't the only thing she needs to deal with. In fact, lately she's not sure who she is, let alone how she feels. As she learns to navigate between stereotypes and labels, Charlie slowly comes into her own and will maybe, just maybe, let her guard down enough to fall in love. 

On the Fence is not my typical read, but now I want to read ALL THE CONTEMPORARY stories like it! So, by all means, bring on the recommendations!
 
Imagination Designs
Images by © Kelly J Sorenson | www.kellyjsorenson.etsy.com